inbanner4.jpg

What's in a Name - Plank Road Questers #236, Brighton, Michigan

Plank Road Questers #236 established its charter in December, 1965 with 18 members, one of whom is still active. Currently at 20 members, Plank Road #236 has maintained State Board positions with the offices of State Board President, and State Secretary held by its members. The chapter has numerous educative speakers who present informative talks and demonstrations for other Quester chapters, historical organizations and Quester Conventions.

Most charter members originated from the Brighton and Howell areas and chose the name due to the importance of the Plank Road to local commerce and economic growth.
Constructed between 1848 and 1852, the Plank Road, a sixteen foot wide highway of planked logs, was the first permanent road between Detroit and Lansing. A private company engineered the road based on a section of a Native America Trail known as the Grand River Trail. Travelers could complete the 80 mile trip from Detroit to Lansing in 10-12 hours by changing horses; however, most made the trip in two days and stayed overnight in Brighton or Howell. By 1880, the road was abandoned due to rapid wood decay and high maintenance which was not sustained with the one cent per mile per traveler toll. Eventually the road became a section of the State Trunkline Highway, Grand River Road, M-16.

Plank Road Questers #236 has supported numerous P & R projects including the continuous preservation of the historic Lyon School House. The latest P & R project raised funds for restoration of windows for the Howell Opera House.

Meetings are held the 3rd Monday of the month from September to May. Members present a brief monthly roll call presentation based on the international research topic. In addition, a monthly educational program or field trip gives information of antiques, collections or historical events. Within these programs, members often showcase their personal collections.